St. Dragon Girl Vol. 1

Summary: Momoka Sendou (nicknamed “Dragon Girl”) and Ryuga Kou are childhood friends. Momoka is a martial artist, and Ryuga is a Chinese magic master who banishes demons. In order to increase his power, Ryuga calls on the spirit of a dragon to possess him, but the spirit enters momka instead. Now the two must unite forces and fight demons together!

Review: Okay, I’m not going to lie, I’m an impulse buyer. I happen to enjoy the majority of manga that Viz have to offer in their Shojo Beat line. In fact, some of my favorites comes from this line. Being the impulse buyer that I am, I find that I always pick up  the new releases that Shojo Beat have to offer, and St. Dragon Girl happens to be one of them.

At first, I was reluctant to start this series because my sister told me it was too “cute”. But knowing me, I ignored her anyways and bought the manga during one of my spending sprees. The next day I sat down and read it, and I found that I didn’t entirely hate it, like my sister would assume. lol

Basically, the story is about a girl name Momoka whose family runs a kenpo dojo, and Ryuga who is a chinese magic master that banishes demons. One day, Ryuga calls upon a dragon to possess him in order to save his cousin from an evil serpent king who appears every hundred years to find a bride. But instead the dragon ends up possessing Momoka. So now, Ryuga and Momoka are team that banishes demons together because Ryuga is the only one who could release and seal the dragon within Momoka. After the first chapter, the story progresses in an episodic format, where each chapter is a new mini-adventure for the Ryuga/Momoka team. 

 

 

The thing about reviewing the first volume of any manga series, is that it doesn’t allow the reader to be too deep into the story to know if he/she likes it or not. I know that there are some series that manage to capture its reader’s heart the moment you read the first page, but for this manga, you need to be a couple volumes in to know if you like it or not. Right now, I find this series to be a bit generic in term of the story. The whole banishing demons thing, I felt like I read it somewhere before. The thing I do like about this series is that Momoka is a strong character. She kicks ass when Ryuga annoys her. lol I definitely prefer that over any heroines who gets bully around.

Conclusion: I will be giving this manga another shot to see how the story progresses and if Momoka and Ryuga developed into anything more than childhood friends.

Overall Grade: C

Leave a Reply

