We Were There Vol. 3

WEWERETHERE3what’s on the back: Every day, all day, I think about him. I wonder if there’s a limit to love? I’m no longer able to imagine a world without him.

Review: We Where There, or Bakura ga Ita in Japanese, is the type of manga that invokes your feelings throughout the whole story. I admit I have a soft spot for romances. But unlike other Shoujos, We Were There deals with real life situations when it comes to love. Instead of the usual unrealistic stuff that usually occurs in shoujo, this manga deals with more of the ugly side of love.

This volume is jammed packed with drama. And the person that’s dishing the trouble is of course, Yuri. I don’t know if I can sympathize with her situation or I should despise her. Her history with Yano is more clearer now. She is jealous of Nana-chan and feels the need to interfer with Yano’s relationship. She secretly leaks Yano’s past to Nana, so that Nana would start to feel insecure with her relationship. And It works, because Nana starts to question Yano’s past with his deceased ex-girlfriend. Yano later tells Nana that instead of living in the past, he’s living in the present for her. Nana feels reassured at Yano’s feeling…for now. I still think deep within her heart she still questions Yano’s past.

So the real question is what’s Yuri’s deal? Is it guilt towards her older sister? Is it her love for Yano? Or does she just want to ruin Yano’s life? Sometimes I pity her because I feel that she is also stucked in the past. But at the same time, her actions in the future, is unnecessary. Sure Yano and Yuri had a past together, but really does she need to dig it up? If it’s her way of showing love, then I just don’t understand.

In this volume, the character development is awesome. We get to see Yano’s and Nana-chan’s relationship head to the deeper side of love. I was glad Yano showed some jealousy this volume. That just means that Yano is starting to fall for Nana. We also get see Yuri’s intentions more clearly (I ranted enough about her, so moving on…). Takeuchi is starting to show some develop as well. To me it seems like he’s maybe starting to fall for Nana? Who knows… But I do know that he tries to help Nana figure out Yano’s past. So his intentions are not really clear now. Is he just beeing a good friend? Or is he trying to break them up? Who knows?

A lot of people complain about Yuki Obata-Sensei’s art. They don’t  like that she sometimes just draw just one eye. Bokura ga Ita is a slow paced manga. The way she draws the characters helps set the mood. Instead of taking away from the story, her art helps add the enjoyment.

Final Thoughts: This is still one of my favourite mangas, in my opinion, it’s even a little better than Sand Chronicles, which is another shoujo drama. Sometimes you just need to move away from the romantic comedies, and move into something a bit more moodier. I haven’t cried yet, but I feel like that might change when I get to the other volumes.

Overall Grade: A

Leave a Reply

